Palace: ECQ in Panay Island for re-checking’

first_imgMANILA – The four provinces in Panay Islandwill continue to be under an enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until May 15,according to Malacañang, but this is up for re-checking for possibledowngrading to general community quarantine (GCQ). The coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)quarantine status of Iloilo, Antique, Aklan, and Capiz will be finalized by theend of this month, said Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque. President Rodrigo Duterte also extended theECQ until May 15 in Metro Manila, Batangas, Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, QuezonProvince, Mindoro Island, Albay, Catanduanes, Bulacan, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, andPampanga. * Iloilo province – 19 The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management ofEmerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) earlier categorized Iloiloand Antique under red, while Aklan and Capiz under orange. The Luzon-wide ECQ was supposed to end onApril 12 but was extended until April 30. Roque added that the categorization used weregreen (low-risk or low or no cases), orange (moderate or finished outbreak) andred (high-risk, accelerated infections). * Antique – nine * Guimaras – zero Enhanced community quarantine requires stricthome quarantine in all households, suspension of transportation, regulation offood and essential health services, and heightened presence of uniformedpersonnel enforcing quarantine protocols. “Angdatos na ginamit para sa Iloilo and Antique (for the IATF-EIDrecommendation) ay mula two days ago pa, pero mas maganda ang mga numero nagaling sa local government unit,” he added. * Aklan – six “SaVisayas, ang ginagawa natin ay byisland. Kami ay magdedesisyon base sadata, at kung maganda na ang data, pwedeng i-adjust into GCQ,” said Chua. “Posibleng paglapit ng April 30, baka gumanda ang sitwasyon doon.” “The designation of their being high-risk (forthe spread of COVID-19) is for rechecking,” Roque said in a virtual pressconference on Friday. “The assessment could change before April 30.” Aside from the provinces in Panay Island,other places where the quarantine status is up for re-checking are Pangasinan,Benguet, Tarlac and Zambales in Luzon, Cebu in Visayas, Davao del Norte, Davaode Oro (formerly Compostela Valley) and Davao City in Mindanao. “Maydalawang basehan para malaman ang status ng probinsya: una, ang bilis ng pagdoble ngmga kaso at ‘yung critical care utilization rate o kung sapat ba ang hospital equipment at ICU facilities,” Chua said. * Capiz – five * Negros Occ. – four * Iloilo City – seven Provinces that were not mentioned in the ECQwill be placed under GCQ, or the “new normal,” according to President Duterteduring the address to the nation on Friday morning. * Bacolod City – eight The ECQ was initially enforced in the wholeisland of Luzon to arrest the spread of COVID-19 in the country. Acting National Economic and DevelopmentAuthority secretary Karl Chua said the IATF-EID recommendation on Panay Islandwas based on the latest data of confirmed COVID-19 cases from the Department ofHealth (DOH). Data from DOH Region 6 showed the followingbreakdown of Region 6’s COVID-19 cases as of April 24: General community quarantine, meanwhile,limits people’s movements to accessing basic necessities and work and directsuniformed personnel and quarantine personnel to be present at border points./PNlast_img read more