IHF World Handball Player 2011 Nominations – Vote

The online voting for the World Handball Players 2011 has started. Experts, fans and media will decide who will be the successors of Filip Jícha (CZE) and Cristina Neagu (ROM).From today on handball fans have the opportunity to vote on who will be awarded best male and best female player for 2011. The online voting takes place on the website of the International Handball Federation.All nominees are from the European continental federation and also play for European clubs.An expert jury of famous and successful coaches already made their proposals. In the next step media  representatives and fans will leave their votes. The results of all three parties – experts, media and fans – will be evaluated in the end and according to this the best male and the best female player of the year will be announced. Here are the nominees:MENLuc Abalo (FRA)Born:  6 September 1984, Club: Atletico Madrid (ESP), Position: right wingWorld Champion 2009, 2011, European Champion 2006, 2010, Olympic Champion 2008Champions League winner 2009, Champions League finalist 2011IHF Super Globe winner 2010, IHF Super Globe finalist 2011Two times Spanish champion and Spanish cup winnerMikkel Hansen (DEN)Born: 22 October 1987, Club AG Kobenhavn (DEN), Position: left backSilver medallist at World Championship 2011, Top scorer of World Championships 2011, All-star-team member at World Championship 2011Danish champion and cup winner 2011Champions League finalist 2010 with FC BarcelonaThierry Omeyer (FRA)Born: 2 November 1976, Club: THW Kiel (GER), Position: goalkeeperWorld Handball Player of the Year 2008Olympics Champion 2008, World Champion 2001, 2009 and 2011, European Champion 2006 and 2010, Bronze Medallist at the World Championships 2003, 2005Champions League winner 2003 (Montpellier), 2007, 2010 (Kiel), IHF Super Globe winner with THW Kiel 2011Nine times national champion with Montpellier and Kiel, eight times cup winnerFilip Jicha (CZE)Born:  19.4.1982, Club: THW Kiel (GER), Position: left backWorld Handball Player of the Year 2010Top scorer, All Star Team member and Most Valuable Player at the EURO 2010Champions League Winner 2010 (with Kiel), Champions League finalist 2008, 2009, EHF Champions Trophy Winner 2007, Top scorer Champions League 2009, 2010, Winner of the IHF Super Globe 2011 with KielGerman Champion 2008, 2009, 2010, German Cup winner 2008, 2009, 2011, Most Valuable Player of the German Bundesliga 2010, German and Czech Handball Player of the Year 2009 and 2010Nikola Karabatic (FRA)Born: 11.4.1984, Club: Montpellier HB (FRA), Position: left backWorld Handball Player of the 2007Olympics Champion 2008, World Champion 2009, 2011, European Champion 2006, 2010, several nominations for All Star Teams at major tournaments.Champions League winner 2003 (Montpellier), 2007 (THW Kiel), ten nine times national champion and cup winner with Montpellier and KielFormer World Handball Players of the Year – MEN2010: Filip Jicha (Czech Republic)2009: Slawomir Szmal (Poland)2008 : Thierry Omeyer (France)2007 : Nikola Karabatic (France)2006 : Ivano Balic (Croatia)2005 : Arpad Sterbik (Serbia)2004: Henning Fritz (Germany)2003: Ivano Balic (Croatia)2002: Bertrand Gille (France)2001 : Kyung Shin-Yoon (Korea)2000: Dragan Skrbic (Serbia)1999: Rafael Guijosa (Spain)1998: Daniel Stephan (Germany)1997: Stephane Stoecklin (France)1996: Talant Dushebajew (Spain)1995: Jackson Richardson (France)1994: Talant Dushebajew (Russia)1990: Magnus Wislander (Sweden)1989: Kang Jae-Won (Korea)1988: Veselin Vujovic (Yugoslavia)WOMENKatrine Lunde-Haraldsen (NOR)Born: 30.3.1980, Club: Audi ETO Györ (HUN), Position: GoalkeeperOlympics Champion 2008, awarded for Olympics All Star TeamWorld Champion 2011, Silver Medallist at World Championship 2007, Bronze Medallist at World Championships 2009European Champion: 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010Two times Champions League winner (2009, 2010) with Viborg HKAllison Pineau (FRA)Born: 2.5.1989, Club Metz HB (FRA), Position: Center backSilver medallist at World Championships 2009 and 2011Member of the World Championship All-star-Team 2009, 2011French champion and cup winner 2011Heidi Löke (NOR)Born: 12.12.1982, Club: Audi ETO Györ (HUN), Position: PivotWorld Champion 2011All-star-team-member at World Championship 2011Bronze medallist at World Championship 2009European Champion 2008, 2010Champions League winner 2011 with Larvik HK, top scorer of Champions league season 2010/2011Several times Norwegian champion, cup winner and top scorer of Norwegian LeagueAndrea Penezic (CRO)Born: 13.11.1985, Club: Krim Mercator Ljubljana (SLO), position: left backAll-star-team member at World Championship 2011Three times Croatian handball player of the year (2008, 2009, 2011)Andrea Lekic (SRB)Born: 6.9.1987, Club: Audi ETO Györ (HUN), Position: centre backEach four times Slovenian champion and Cup winner with RK Krim MercatorMost Valuable Player of the Women’s Regional Handball League 2009Former World Handball Players of the Year – WOMEN2010: Cristina Neagu (Romania)2009: Alison Pineau (France)2008 : Linn-Kristin Riegelhuth (Norway)2007 : Gro Hammerseng (Norway)2006 : Nadine Krause (Germany)2005 : Anita Görbicz (Hungary)2004: Anita Kulcsar (Hungary)2003: Bojana Radulovics (Hungary)2002: Chao Zhai (China)2001 : Cecilie Leganger (Norway)2000: Bojana Radulovics (Hungary)1999: Ausra Fridrikas (Austria)1998: Trine Haltvik (Norway)1997: Anja Andersen (Denmark)1996: O Kyeong Lim (Korea)1995: Erszebet Kocsis (Hungary)1994: Mia Hermansson (Sweden)1990: Jasna Merdan-Kolar (Austria)1989: Hyun-Mee Kim (Korea)1988: Svetlana Dasic-Kitic (Yugoslavia)TEXT: IHF ← Previous Story Main Round Group I Decision – Four teams dream about Semi-final! Next Story → EHF EURO 2012 (1/2 Final): Serbia – Croatia and Spain – Denmark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *