NCW hosts annual wreath-laying ceremony in tribute of late President Burnham

first_imgThe National Congress of Women (NCW), the women’s arm of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), on Sunday paid tribute to the late President Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham with a simple wreath-laying ceremony at its headquarters, Kitty Public Road, Georgetown.Some of the officals at the wreath laying ceremony on SundayToday marks the 33rd death anniversary of President Burnham and as such, the small group of women along with special guests, Public Health Minister Volda Lawrence and PNCR Chairman Basil Williams, congregated to reflect on the life and work of the late President.As the wreaths were laid at the Burnham statue, there was the singing of a number of National Songs.In her brief remarks, Minister Lawrence reflected on the late President, remembering that he valued and believed in women.As such, she made the call for woman to not only be given the respect that they deserved in society today but to also be represented regarding issues affecting them.Wreaths were also laid by a representative of the Burnham family along with representatives of several organisations as well as a representative from a number of Guyana’s administrative regions. Also paying a floral tribute to the late founder of the PNC was Williams.The ceremony was reportedly kept simple this year as the country is preparing for Local Government Elections (LGE) and the PNCR for Congress.Burnham served as Prime Minister of Guyana from 1964 and as Executive President from 1980 until the time of his death in 1985 at the age of 62. He was also a lawyer and a father of six.Burnham was elected Prime Minister of the self-governing colony then named British Guiana in 1964 and became the country’s first Prime Minister at Independence two years later. He won re-election in 1968, 1973, and 1978, although his critics accused him of fixing the elections.After having the Constitution changed to make Guyana a “cooperative republic,” Burnham was elected “Executive President” in 1980.Burnham was one of the founding leaders of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), which was launched on January 1, 1950.Burnham broke with co-founders Dr Cheddi and Janet Jagan in 1957 and formed the People’s National Congress (PNC).last_img read more


first_img31 335 Fionnuala Larkin w SW 21:4832 345 Charlton Cannard m JM 22:1333 319 Eilis McClafferty w SW LAC 22:1734 309 Alex McDermott m JM 22:4735 353 Martin Wilson m M40 ICCR 22:5636 304 Karl Friel m JM 23:0037 359 Tadgh Morgan m JM 23:1038 351 Ciaran Callaghan m SM Drumoghill Running club 23:3339 327 John McGonigle m SM 23:3540 361 Noel Lynch m M40 LAC 23:5341 318 Eithne Cox w W40 LAC 23:5542 336 David Larkin m SM 24:4343 363 Gaetano Cincquemani m JM 24:4544 354 Liam McLaughlin m M50 24:5045 355 Mary T Gallagher w SW 24:5046 320 Emmet Friel m JM 24:5147 349 Michael Jordan m M40 Convoy AC 24:5648 342 Peter McLean m M50 LAC 25:0549 339 Mary Bond w W50 Finn Valley 25:0850 337 Gerard Sharkey m SM 30:0851 352 Noreen Sharkey w W50 30:1152 310 Sergei McDermott m JM 31:2653 333 Eoin Cunningham m JM 31:2654 347 Ann Robinson w SW 31:3155 356 Lauren Doherty w JW 31:4156 346 Karol Harvey m SM 31:4157 334 Mags Kelly w W40 33:2758 332 Uljana Ciubaroua w JW LET NS 36:2359 360 Laoise Morgan w JW 36:2460 344 Roshni Cannard w JW LET NS 36:2661 315 Toby Taylor m JM 40:5562 316 Oscar Ponsonby m JM 40:5963 365 Michaella Norrie w JW 42:2164 364 Kay Norrie w W40 42:2565 366 Louise Norrie w JW 42:25The one and only Collie……!GREAT TURN-OUT FOR EDUCATE TOGETHER 5K IN LETTERKENNY – PIC SPECIAL was last modified: April 26th, 2016 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window) The Educate Together %k took place in Letterkenny with more than 60 runners taking part.Matt McLaughlin from Foyle Valley was first home followed by his team-mate Aron Cole.The first local runner home was Annraoi Cheevers from Letterkenny AC in a time of 18.32. Well done to all who took part.Educate Together 5k 2016Place Bib Name Sex AG Club Time1 306 Matt Mc Laughlin m SM Foyle Valley 17:072 312 Aron Cole m SM Foyle Valley 18:283 322 Annraoi Cheevers m SM Letterkenny A.C. 18:324 348 Ryan Jordan m JM Convoy A.C. 18:365 324 Martin Dunleavy m M50 Foyle Valley 18:386 305 Colly O Donnell m M40 18:487 325 Declan McGill m SM Foyle Valley 18:518 358 Dan Friel m SM 18:549 341 Mark Mc Fadden m M40 Letterkenny A.C. 19:0610 321 Paul McMonagle m SM LAC 19:0711 323 Ciaran O Donnell m M40 LAC 19:0912 303 Barry Mackey m M50 19:2513 362 Gemma McGinty w SW Foyle Valley 19:3314 350 Paul Lynch m M40 Letterkenny A.C. 19:3515 301 Luke Daly m SM 19:4116 328 Jane McGinley w SW LAC 19:4517 326 Michael Galvin m M40 Letterkenny A.C. 19:4718 338 Tiernan Boyle m JM 19:4719 340 Gwyn Yemm m SM 19:4720 331 Stephen Roarty m SM LAC 19:5921 308 Adrian Callaghan m M40 LAC 20:0122 343 Shauna McGeehan w SW LAC 20:0823 314 Gary McDaid m SM 20:1024 313 Paul Sweeney m M40 LAC 20:2125 330 Phil Boyle m M40 LAC 20:2526 307 Irene McFadden w SW LAC 20:4327 329 Sinead Peoples w SW LAC 20:5628 317 Chris Taylor m M40 21:1529 302 Sabrina Mackey w W40 21:1730 357 Martin McHugh m SM 21:34 last_img read more